City of Rochester
201 4th Street SE
Rochester, MN  55904

Phone: 507-328-2900
Fax: 507-328-2901
TDD: 507-328-2900

Department Contacts

City of Rochester - News & Announcements

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Click here to view more department level news and announcements.

Thirteen Mayor’s Medal of Honor Recipients Honored During Ceremony

Post Date:12/12/2019 4:33 PM

Mayor Kim Norton was joined by recipients, their friends and families on December 12, 2019 for the Mayor’s Medal of Honor program. In total, thirteen individuals were recognized.  This year, 2019, marked the 36th year of the Mayor’s Medal of Honor. 

Mayor Kim Norton states, “The Mayor’s Medal of Honor is a longstanding opportunity to recognize the outstanding contributions of our community members. Today we had the chance to recognize the contributions of twelve marvelous individuals who make our community a better place to live, work, and play.” 

Mayor’s Medal of Honor Recipients



Artistic / Cultural Achievement Award

Tyler Aug

Excellence in City Service Award

Steven Schmidt

Community-Wide Service Award

Danielle Teal

Champion of Diversity Award

Miriam Goodson

Educational Excellence Award

Natalia Benjamin

Excellence in Industry Award

Naura Anderson

Human Services Award

JoMarie Morris

Legacy Award

George Thompson

Mayor’s Award

Jere Lantz

Personal Achievement Award

Andy Brownell

Senior/Elder Achievement Award

Jeanette Fortier

Sustainability Award

Ivan Idso

Youth Serving Community

Anjali Donthi


The Mayor’s Medal of Honor recognizes residents who have gone above and beyond to serve the community.  The Mayor collected nominations from community members. In total over 54 nominations were received.

Return to full list >>