City Planning and Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Meets 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the Month

The Board generally meets twice each month on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at 6:00 pm.  The Board meets in the Council/Board Chambers, located at the Government Center (151 Fourth Street SE).

Commission History

The first Planning and Zoning Commission was organized and approved as a new appointed body by the City Council in October, 1949. The Commission is charged with the responsibility of proposing plans, policies and programs addressing the physical development and planning of the city. They act in an advisory role also for a variety of zoning ordinance and land development manual procedures.

Organizational Structure

The Commission consists of 9 members appointed by the City Council. The members of the commission are appointed for a period of 3 years and until a successor is appointed. There will be a President and Vice President elected by the members. The Planning Director shall serve as the Secretary. Five members shall constitute a quorum.

Mission Statement

The City of Rochester Planning and Zoning Commission will propose and make recommendations on plans and policies to guide future development of City lands to ensure a more equitable, healthy, efficient, and attractive place for present and future generations.

Commission Members   

  • Thomas Hill, Chair
  • Michael Walters, Vice Chair 
  • Brittany Wilson
  • Peter Castro
  • Kraig Durst
  • Tyler Despins
  • Jeremiah Harbach
  • Ian Lochridge
  • Krystal Gillespie

Meeting Information

For Agenda, Meeting Packets and Minutes go the City's Meeting Portal

 For additional information please contact the Rochester-Olmsted Planning Department at 507 328-7100.