COVID-19 InformationInformation and Updates for Community Members

Contact Information

201 4th Street SE
Room 108
Rochester, Mn 55904 (Map)

Phone: 507-328-2950
Fax: 507-328-2401

Mon-Fri 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Department Contacts


Committee on Urban Design and Environment (CUDE)

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Meets the Third Thursday of the Month

Mission Statement

The mission of the Committee on Urban Design and Environment (CUDE)  is to maintain and improve the appearance, function and environmental quality of the community through investigation and development of appropriate policies and strategies.

Organizational Structure

CUDE is Rochester's Committee on Urban Design and Environment. Appointed by the Mayor, CUDE members advise the Mayor, City Council, and other City boards on issues regarding urban design and its impacts on Rochester's physical and social environment.

Meeting Schedule and Information

The Committee generally meets once each month on the third Thursday of each month. The Committee meets in the Council/Board Chambers at the Government Center, 151 Fourth Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904.

To view agendas, meeting packets, and minutes, please visit the City's Meeting Portal.

Urban Design & Environment Appreciation and Awards

CUDE is committed to recognizing new construction, renovation, maintenance, landscaping, and environmental projects that contribute to the quality of life in Rochester.

Throughout the year, CUDE accepts nominations from community members to acknowledge projects in eight categories that they feel exceed expectations. Each fall, an annual awards breakfast is held to celebrate these projects and the individuals and organizations that bring them to life. 

Is there a project that you feel merits recognition by CUDE? Let us know by nominating the project today! If it meets our review criteria, we will send the property owner a “Note of Appreciation” recognizing the work they’ve done to improve Rochester’s urban environment and they will be considered for inclusion in the annual awards ceremony. 

Click here to nominate a local project today!

Committee Members

  • Paul Sims, Chair
  • Angela Gupta, Co-Vice Chair
  • Barbara Hudson, Co-Vice Chair
  • Bari Amadio
  • Nicholas Dibble
  • Marilyn Hansmann
  • James Keller
  • Blaire Landon
  • Hasan Mir
  • Shruthi Naik
  • Alex Nelson
  • Allison Matthews
  • Nick Queensland

For additional information, please contact the Community Development Department at 507.328.2950 or via email at

Tree Preservation Information

Interested in learning more about the proposed tree preservation ordinance? Visit our FAQs page.