COVID-19 InformationInformation and Updates for Community Members

Contact Information

201 4th Street SE
Room 108
Rochester, Mn 55904 (Map)

Phone: 507-328-2950
Fax: 507-328-2401

Mon-Fri 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Department Contacts


Planning and Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Meets 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the Month

Mission Statement

The City of Rochester Planning and Zoning Commission will propose and make recommendations on plans and policies to guide future development of City lands to ensure a more equitable, healthy, efficient, and attractive place for present and future generations.

Commission Background

The first Planning and Zoning Commission was organized and approved as a new appointed body by the City Council in October 1949. The Commission is charged with the responsibility of proposing plans, policies and programs addressing the physical development and planning of the city. They act in an advisory role also for a variety of zoning ordinance and land development manual procedures.

Organizational Structure

The Commission consists of nine (9) members appointed by the City Council. The members of the commission are appointed for a period of three (3) years and until a successor is appointed. There will be a President and Vice President elected by the members. The Planning Director shall serve as the Secretary. Five (5) members shall constitute a quorum.

Meeting Schedule and Information

The Commission generally meets twice each month on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m. The Commission meets in the Council/Board Chambers at the Government Center, 151 Fourth Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904.

To view agendas, meeting packets, and minutes, please visit the City's Meeting Portal

Commission Members   

  • Thomas Hill, Chair
  • Michael Walters, Vice Chair 
  • Asif Hossain
  • Tyler Despins
  • Kraig Durst
  • Krystal Jorgenson
  • Jeremiah Harbach
  • Ian Lochridge
  • Ben Kall

For additional information, please contact the Community Development Department at 507.328.2950 or via email at